Crochet Baby Blanket, Popcorn Stitch

Popcornblanketmultifocusing.jpg

I made this sweet little blanket for my brothers new baby. I made it big enough to fit a baby cot. It was a very time consuming blanket to make, but so worth the time and effort I put into it. The new parents absolutely love it and have been using it to keep there newborn baby warm.

I made it with an acrylic yarn, which is easy to crochet with. The brand was ANNELL RAPIDO PLUS 50GR. 9260, which is a Dutch brand. I used about 15 to 17 balls and a hook size 4,5.

Basically this is what I did:

Chain 92
Row 1: DC in second chain from hook, DC in each chain across.
Row 2: Ch1, 2SC in next 2 stitches, (5DCtog, 3SC in next three dc) repeat till the end, you should finish with 4 SC at the end.
Row 3: Ch2, DC in stitch across, turn.
Row 4: Ch 1, 4SC in next 4 loops, (5DCtog, 3SC in next three dc) repeat till the end, you should finish with 2 SC at the end,turn.
Row 5: Ch2, DC in every stitch across, turn.

Repeat row 2 through 5 until you get the desired length and finish off with a border around in the desired width.

I hope this make sense. I do believe it is called a bobble stitch, but it looks like popcorn to me. ;-)

Here are some pictures of the result and how I tied it up with a ribbon to gift it.

popcornblanketmultifocusing-9

Crochet baby blanket in popcorn stitch.

popcornblanketmultifocusing-7

popcornblanketmultifocusing-5

popcornblanketmultifocusing-4

popcornblanketmultifocusing-2

Hope you enjoyed this post.

God bless!

Leave a Reply

