Things I Stopped Doing in 2016

6things-in-2016

Things I Stopped Doing in 2016
& Will No Longer Do in 2017

I don’t do new years resolutions, but I do like to reflect on the past year. A little like an evaluation. I suffer from ME, which is an auto immune disease and I am currently bedridden, so I have spent most of the past year in bed, which gives you a lot of time to reflect. ;-)

Just a heads up, but these are all rather random. What things have you stopped doing in the past year?

I Stopped Hanging Out With Toxic People

There are those people in your life who make you feel bad about yourself, they leave you with a bad feeling. They are not adding anything positive to your life and you are probably not adding anything positive to their lives. So I made the decision to stop hanging out with them.

I Stopped Eating Gluten, Dairy, Eggs, Corn, Soy, Peas, …

I stopped eating all of these foods for health reasons and my gut has most definitely thanked me for it. I have had less trouble with nausea and bad digestion.
It had not been an easy journey, I have been hungry a lot, because I just didn’t know what to eat anymore. A sandwich with cheese (oh how I miss cheese) was such an easy go-to. I am learning to eat differently and once in a while I do allow myself some ice cream and it doesn’t make me as sick as it used to.

I Have Stopped Saying Yes to Everything

Seriously ‘no’ is my default answer these days, just because I need to take care of myself. I am quite ill and cannot afford to use up my energy on things that are not so important. I have learned to set my priorities and stick to them. My health comes first, then my kids and my husband, the rest is trivial.

I Have Stopped Wearing Bras

I know, tmi, but why was I wearing them in the first place? They are uncomfortable, the never sit right and they itch like crazy. I only wore them because it seemed like the right thing to do, because everyone else wears them. This little revelation has made me question many of the things I do, just because everyone else does it.

I No Longer Accept Plastic Bags in The Store

Before you know it you have plastic bags piling up everywhere. They are a nuisance and not good for the environment, so I make sure to keep reusable bags everywhere, in my car, in my purse, in my coat pocket. Now I have just to convince my husband to do the same.

I No Longer Buy Meat from the Supermarket

We don’t eat a lot of meat, but when we do we get it from the butcher down the street. We buy local meat from a good quality butcher, who raise there own cows. It’s important for me to know what I am putting into my body. We like to eat basic foods that we can still recognize on our plates.

That’s the end of my little list, I’m sure I could think of many more. How about you?

Blessings to you in 2017!

Leave a Reply

